
Best AI Tools for Godot in 2026: 21 Tools Compared
The best AI tool for Godot depends on where you want the AI to live. Inside the editor, with the scene tree, errors and running game in view: Ziva, which we make, or a free in-editor agent such as Gamedev AI or Fennara. Bridged from Claude Code, Codex or Cursor: an MCP server such as Godot AI by dlight. Free and local: AI Assistant Hub with Ollama. Just completions: the Copilot plugin.
Prices, licenses and versions were checked September 27, 2026, on each tool’s own page, linked inline. Ziva.sh publishes this page and makes Ziva, so read the Ziva section as the maker’s description and the others as what their pages and repositories say. This page replaces our separate May 2026 roundup, which now redirects here.
TL;DR
“Sees the editor” means the tool reads the open scene tree, reads editor errors, and can run the game. “Files” means it reads and writes project files and sees the editor only through a bridge.
| Tool | Runs in | Sees the editor | Price | License |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ziva | Godot dock | tree, errors, runs game | Hobby free with your own AI account or local model; Basic $20/mo | closed source |
| Gamedev AI | Godot dock | tree, Output errors | free | MIT |
| Fennara | Godot dock plus MCP | tree, errors, runs game | free | MIT |
| AI Assistant Hub | Godot dock | tree edits; errors not stated | free | MIT |
| GameDev Assistant | Godot dock, hosted account | scene and node actions; one-click error fix | free plan, paid plan priced after login | proprietary |
| AI Assistants For Godot 4 | Godot dock | files and search | free | MIT |
| Fuku | Godot dock | chat only | free | MIT |
| Simple Godot AI assistant | Godot dock | chat that can run scripts | free | MIT |
| Godot AI Assistant | Godot dock | writes .tscn files | free | MIT |
| Godot AI Suite | copy and paste | applies a pasted plan | $5 | not stated |
| Godot AI by dlight | MCP bridge | tree, errors, runs game | free | MIT |
| Godot MCP Pro | MCP bridge | tree, errors, runs game | $15 one-time | server proprietary, plugin open |
| GDAI MCP | MCP bridge | tree, errors, runs game | $19 one-time | proprietary, binary only |
| Beckett | MCP bridge | tree, logs, runs game; Full adds input | Lite free, Full $15 one-time | MIT (Lite) |
| tomyud Godot MCP | MCP bridge | tree, errors, runs game, input | free | MIT |
| Coding-Solo Godot MCP | MCP, no plugin | files, debug output, runs game | free | MIT |
| KeeVeeG godot-mcp | MCP bridge | tree, runs game, input replay | free | MIT |
| Cursor | external editor | files; editor via MCP | Hobby free, Pro $20/mo | proprietary |
| Copilot plugin | Godot script editor | completions only | plugin free; Copilot free to $10/mo | MIT |
| JetBrains Rider | external IDE | files | free for non-commercial use; $169 first year | proprietary |
| Summer Engine | its own engine | built in | Free, Pro $20/mo, Pro+ $60/mo, Ultra $200/mo | proprietary |
The three questions that sort every tool
Start with three questions before comparing tool counts.
Can it see the editor? Reading .tscn files is not the same as inspecting the scene currently open in Godot. Check whether the tool reads the live scene tree and editor errors. A terminal agent can still run Godot and read its command output without a live-editor bridge; the setup guide shows that distinction: https://ziva.sh/blogs/use-claude-or-chatgpt-with-godot .
How will you check its Godot 4 code? State your engine version, run a script check and play the scene. Our parse experiment used eight deliberately constructed mistakes, not a representative sample of AI output. It also found a valid autoload reference that the check rejected. See the commands and limitations at https://ziva.sh/blogs/how-to-use-ai-with-godot-game-engine .
What are you paying for? Separate the plugin or bridge price from the model account behind it. Check whether it uses your subscription, metered API usage, a hosted allowance or a local model. A free plugin does not establish the cost of the complete setup.
Agents inside the Godot editor
Ziva (ours) installs like any Godot plugin on Godot 4.2 or later, on Windows, macOS and Linux, and opens a dock inside the editor. The agent creates or changes scenes, nodes, scripts, signals and resources, writes GDScript and C#, searches the Godot documentation, reads editor errors with file and line, runs tests and plays the game turn by turn, and every turn can be undone. Sprites and textures come from a generate_image tool with RetroDiffusion and ChatGPT backends, and it adds 3D models to a scene. It runs as a local MCP server for Claude Code, Codex and Cursor, and loads skills and AGENTS.md. Hobby is free with your own Claude Code or ChatGPT Codex subscription or a local model through Ollama or LM Studio; Basic adds Ziva-hosted models and image generation at $20 a month; Pro at $50 adds the Playtest Agent that plays a whole game. It is closed source and has no inline autocomplete; the honest-limits section at the end has the rest.
Gamedev AI by Fredarts is the closest free equivalent: Asset Library 5086 , MIT, Godot 4.6 or later. It drags nodes from the scene tree into the chat, has Add Node and Set Property tools, and a “Watch Mode (Auto-Fix)” in which the “AI monitors the Output window” and fixes what it finds. Models: Google Gemini 3.1 Pro and Flash, OpenAI, OpenRouter, NVIDIA NIM, and local Ollama or LM Studio, on your own keys. The Asset Library still serves version 1.0 from May 2026 while the repository was pushed on September 22, and its README carries a “Status: Premium” badge despite being MIT and free.
Fennara is both a chat dock and an MCP bridge: MIT, free, Godot 4.5 or newer , version 0.4.3 on September 12, 2026. The dock takes your own keys for OpenAI, Anthropic, OpenRouter, DeepSeek, Moonshot, MiniMax, NVIDIA, any OpenAI-compatible endpoint, or local Ollama and LM Studio; the MCP side serves Codex, Claude, Cursor, Gemini and Antigravity. It reads the scene tree, runtime errors, diagnostics and stack traces, starts runtime sessions and takes screenshots. Builds exist for Windows x86_64, Linux x86_64 and macOS arm64 only, and the Asset Store listing says macOS users must install through the CLI because the native library is not notarized.
AI Assistant Hub by FlamxGames is a free MIT-licensed plugin that connects Godot to an LLM provider; it does not run the model itself. Its version 2.1.0 README recommends Godot 4.7 and lists Ollama and llama.cpp for the Tools workflow. Those tools can scan the scene tree, create or delete nodes, and edit properties, groups and signals. Other listed providers support chat and Quick Prompts for targeted code edits. Provider costs and hardware requirements are separate from the plugin. Its tool list does not document reading editor errors. Source: https://github.com/FlamxGames/godot-ai-assistant-hub .
GameDev Assistant by Zenva is a hosted product, not an Asset Library plugin: you download it from the app site , sign in, and paste a token. It “only works in version 4.4 and 4.5”, runs on Zenva’s own models (Kimi K2 without reasoning, Gemini Pro with reasoning), “does not support local LLMs or third-party API keys”, and offers one-click scene and node actions plus “fix errors with a single click”. There is a free plan and a paid plan whose price appears after login, quoted in Australian dollars. Conversations are saved with the account and can be deleted per conversation in the app; it is not available on Android, the web editor or .NET builds of Godot.
AI Assistants For Godot 4 by GrandpaEJ is a chat plugin with file reading and semantic search over the project, Asset Library 4075 , MIT, Godot 4.x, on OpenRouter, Gemini, HuggingFace and Cohere keys. Its README says the “Code/Auto mode is not fully developed yet”, and the last push was July 1, 2026.
Fuku (Asset Library 2689 , MIT, Godot 4.5) and Simple Godot AI assistant (Asset Library 4768 , MIT, Godot 4.6) are chat boxes. Fuku talks to Ollama, OpenAI, Claude, Gemini and Docker Model Runner and last shipped in October 2025; keys sit in an unencrypted .env file. Simple Godot AI assistant “only provides a chat box”, ships no system prompt to save tokens, and warns that “the AI assistant can execute any script code”, which is how it reaches the editor at all.
Godot AI Assistant by champ-gaming on the Godot Asset Store generates scripts and .tscn files from a Groq free-tier Llama 3.3 70B key. MIT, free, pinned to Godot 4.4.1, version 1.0 marked unstable in May 2026.
Godot AI Suite by MarcEngel is not an agent but a copy-and-paste loop: it exports a “Masterprompt” of your project for any chat model, then you “copy the AI’s entire response and paste it into the Agent”, which applies scene changes from the JSON plan. $5 on itch.io , Release 2.01 from October 2025; Godot version and license are not stated.
MCP bridges for Claude Code, Codex and Cursor
These keep your agent in its own tool and give it the editor through the Model Context Protocol. Our setup guide has the exact claude mcp add and codex mcp add commands, and Ziva vs Godot MCP compares the open-source servers in depth.
For a personal perspective on choosing Claude Code or Codex as your MCP client, see Dan’s comparison: https://ziva.sh/blogs/claude-code-vs-codex . He discusses his reported token generation rates and the demands of coordinating up to 15 agents, not a controlled productivity benchmark.
Godot AI by dlight (Asset Library 5050 , GitHub , MIT, free) is a free MCP bridge: it reads the tree, surfaces parse errors and Debugger rows through logs_read, runs the project and tests, and screenshots the game framebuffer, for any MCP client including Claude Code, Claude Desktop, Codex, Cursor and VS Code. Version 4.2.3 shipped September 24, 2026 and needs Godot 4.7 or later; the Asset Library still serves 3.2.1 for Godot 4.5 and later. C# is “text-only” (no .NET build or compiler errors), and telemetry is on by default with an environment-variable opt-out.
Godot MCP Pro by youichi-uda is $15 one-time with lifetime updates , Godot 4.4 or later (tested through 4.7), Node.js 18 or later. It reads the tree and editor errors, plays the game, simulates input and screenshots both editor and game. The GDScript plugin is open source; the Node server ships only in the paid download. Its own pages disagree on the tool count (162, 163 and 187 on different pages), so read it as “over 160”.
GDAI MCP by Delano Lourenco is $19 one-time , Godot 4.2 or later, distributed “in binary form only”, version 0.3.3 on September 7, 2026. It reads the tree, get_godot_errors, plays and stops scenes with screenshots, and works with Claude, Cursor, Windsurf, Copilot, Zed and other MCP clients. The landing page advertises input simulation, but the documented tool list shows no input tool.
Beckett by beckettlab is a single GDScript plugin with no Node.js, MIT for the Lite edition, $15 one-time for Full , Godot 4.2 or later with 4.4 recommended, version 1.15.2 on September 19, 2026. Lite reads the remote tree and game logs, runs the game and screenshots it; Full adds playtest input and assertions. Injected input reaches the action system and _input, not raw polling calls, and the C# compile check needs the .NET SDK.
tomyud Godot MCP (Asset Library 4767 , MIT, free, version 0.6.0 on August 24, 2026) reads the tree, errors from Output and Debugger, runs and stops scenes, sends input and screenshots the viewport. The README is explicit that Ctrl+Z does not reach AI changes because the plugin writes to disk rather than the live tree; use its mcp_undo tool instead. One editor at a time, local only.
Coding-Solo Godot MCP (GitHub , MIT, 5,848 stars) has no editor plugin: it drives the Godot command line, so scene edits are file-based and there is no live tree, but get_debug_output and run_project work with the editor closed. Last push April 16, 2026. Cursor users need a plan that allows MCP tools.
KeeVeeG godot-mcp (GitHub , MIT, “300+ tools”, Godot 4.x tested with 4.7) adds runtime inspection, screenshots and input record and replay, version 1.1.0 from July 2026 with 27 stars and a note about WebSocket timeouts during heavy editor operations. LeeSinLiang’s godot-mcp uses the remote debugger ports but has no license file and no activity since December 2025.
External editors and autocomplete
Cursor is an AI editor, not a Godot plugin: Hobby is free and Pro is $20 a month . It works with project files. Use a live-editor bridge for access to the open scene tree; running Godot’s command line and reading its output is a separate route that does not require MCP.
The Copilot plugin by lrdcxdes (Asset Library 4800 , MIT, version 2.1.0 from February 2026, README for Godot 4.6) puts Copilot ghost text into Godot’s own script editor for .gd, .cs and .glsl. The plugin is free; Copilot itself is $0 on Free, $10 a month on Pro. It needs Node.js 20.8 or later, and the README lists a bug where suggestions stop after switching scripts. Completions only: no scene, no errors, no agent.
JetBrains Rider is free for individual non-commercial use , $169 for the first commercial year, and its “AI Free” tier is included. It is an external IDE rather than an agent docked inside Godot. If you are choosing between the two languages first, read GDScript vs C#.
An AI-native engine
Summer Engine is a different decision: not a plugin for Godot but a separate editor that “always follows Godot upstream” and, in its own words, is “a fully custom engine at this point, with more than a million lines of custom code”. Pricing is Free, Pro at $20 a month, Pro+ at $60 and Ultra at $200; MCP for Claude Code, Codex and Cursor is free. Its docs say existing Godot projects still need “editor-version, import, plugin, native-extension, and export compatibility” verification, C# does not export to web, and downloads exist for macOS and Windows only. Ziva vs Summer Engine covers the trade in full.
Which tool should you pick?
- You want an agent inside the editor that sees errors and plays the game: Ziva (ours), or Gamedev AI and Fennara if you want MIT and your own keys.
- You already use Claude Code, Codex or Cursor: choose an MCP bridge for access to the live editor. For Ziva’s local server setup, see https://ziva.sh/docs/ziva-mcp-server .
- You want the most tools from a bridge and do not mind paying once: Godot MCP Pro at $15, Beckett Full at $15, GDAI MCP at $19.
- You want to use a local model: AI Assistant Hub supports Ollama and llama.cpp. Check the actual model endpoint and the plugin’s network requirements before treating a setup as private or offline.
- You only want a chat box in the editor: Fuku or Simple Godot AI assistant.
- You only want completions: the Copilot plugin.
- You write C# and want a full IDE: Rider, free for non-commercial work, plus a bridge for editor sight.
- You would rather switch editors entirely: Summer Engine.
How we compared them
Every capability, price and version on this page comes from the tool’s own page, repository or Asset Library listing, read on September 27, 2026, and linked where it is claimed. Our setup test started the Coding-Solo, tomyud and hi-godot MCP servers through Claude Code on Godot 4.7.2; the Codex test saved configuration only. Ziva is the product we build. Test boundaries and commands: https://ziva.sh/blogs/use-claude-or-chatgpt-with-godot . We did not install every paid plugin for this revision, and the table does not pretend otherwise.
Two more kinds of evidence sit behind the recommendations. Our published benchmarks of models building Godot games from one prompt, a 3D parkour game, a vampire-survivor game from a 95 KB spec and Flappy Bird with GPT-5.6, record costs and tool-call counts. And a fixed 33-prompt panel we re-run on ChatGPT, Google AI Overview and AI Mode, most recently in September 2026, after 70 search-style queries across seven LLMs in May 2026, shows what those engines tell developers. The panel is why the table has a “sees the editor” column: several engines still describe in-editor agents as code-only, a claim that traces to one competitor blog and that the screenshots here contradict.
We did not measure productivity. A randomized trial by METR found experienced developers 19% slower with AI while believing they were 24% faster, and no equivalent study exists for Godot. Treat every speed claim on a tool’s page, including ours, as marketing until you have timed your own week.
Where Ziva fits, and its limits
Ziva is our product. It is the in-editor agent in the table, and the features above are the ones we can document. Its limits are as real as its features. It is closed source, shipped as compiled releases . It has no inline autocomplete. Hobby is free only with your own Claude Code or ChatGPT Codex subscription or a local model; Ziva-hosted models and image generation are on Basic at $20 a month, and the Playtest Agent that plays a whole game is on Pro at $50. Code is sent to the model provider you choose under that provider’s retention terms, and Ziva itself stores no project data and never trains on your code. If source access is a requirement, inspect the MIT-licensed options above. For fully local operation, also check where the model runs and whether the complete setup needs network access; a plugin’s license alone does not answer that.
To try Ziva, download it, open a Godot 4.2 or later project, and connect your Claude or ChatGPT account on the free Hobby plan.
Related reading
- Godot AI: what an in-editor agent can do: the product page, with the tool list.
- Godot AI skills: which packs exist and how to install one: the instruction packs that teach these agents Godot 4.
- Which AI tool can read Godot editor errors and fix them?: which errors reach the Debugger but miss the Output panel.
- Best AI coding assistant for Godot in 2026: nine assistants on GameDevBench scores, editor fit and price.
- Ziva vs Godot MCP: five open-source servers compared.
- How do I use Claude or ChatGPT together with Godot?: the four routes, with commands.
- Best Godot plugins in 2026: the non-AI half of the toolbox.